top of page

Remembering Ed Webster: Climber, Adventurer, Historian, Writer, and Photographer

I'm in complete total shock and sadness after the loss of a friend. Jimmie Dunn called me the day after Thanksgiving and told me that our wonderful longtime friend and climbing partner Ed Webster had passed away on Tuesday, November 22, at his home in Maine.


Unaware of his passing, I had written a message to Ed on Thanksgiving Day and wished him and his family a happy Thanksgiving and said we needed to get together next year for conversation and adventure.


Damn. With tears in my eyes, I miss you, Ed.



Here is a link to a personal remembrance of my friend Ed Webster, one of the great climbers, mountaineers, and adventurers of the late 20th century that I wrote for Outside Online/Climbing/Rock & Ice.


I talked with lots of people for the article including another old friend Jimmie Dunn. Jim and I have talked a lot about Ed over the past few days. We are both still shocked by his passing.


Rest in peace, Ed.


Remembering Ed Webster, Desert Climber and New-Router on Everest





Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page